International Dean’s Course Southeast Asia

It is shameful that I haven’t written this blog for a number of months. I don’t know what happen to me. It could be because I was busy with by routine work load. Actually, it should not be the excuse. This is one of my weaknesses. I should be more consistent with my work. Insha Allah, I will try my best to update and report what I am doing. 

Last month I got a good opportunity to attend an international workshop called “International Dean’s Course Southeast Asia” in Osnabrueck and Berlin, Germany. The session was held on June 16-30, 2012. Before I have been selected as a candidate for the course, I applied to DAAD (German Educational Exchange Agency), one of the German government body, with a mini proposal. I have been contacted by a Director of DAAD in Bangkok and she asked to me fill the application form. One month past, I asked her that how many applicants applied for the scholarship. She said there were about twelve applications from the whole Thai university. I was so afraid that I wouldn’t be able to be selected. However, I was lucky, the committee put my name as one of the four candidates from Thailand. There were from Mahidol University, Naresuan University, Chiangmai University, and PSU Pattani.

My flight was booked by the agency in Germany and sent to me via email. I flew from Hat Yai to Bangok (by Thai Airways), to Kuala Lumpur, to Frankfurt (by Malaysian Airlines), and eventually to Osnabrueck by Lufthansa. It took several hours.

Once I arrived in at the University of Applied Sciences, Osnabrueck (west of Germany), there were many colleagues from other countries from ASEAN countries, except Lao, Cambodia, Brunei, and Singapore. We attended workshop here for a week before leaving for Berlin for the second week of the program.

The workshops were designed for participants to understand how to administer the faculty. For example, we discuss on how to promote research capability among faculty members, what about internationalization policy as well as how to manage the conflict, ect. Discussions were the major approach of the workshop. All 43 participants had to share their ideas or their experiences from the home university.

The Course will be held again for the second phase in Bangkok in October and the third phase in Indonesia. Everything is subsidized by German government.

I will share with you later about the Bangkok and Indonesia workshops.

Bordin

Leave a Reply

